Diary of an Indian Bride


Asking your Bridal Party
March 1, 2010, 3:52 am
Filed under: Bridal Party, Bridesmaids, Flower girl, Maid of Honour, Ring boy

Indian weddings don’t really have a place for groomsmen, bridesmaids, flower girls or ring boys – there are a few important people in the wedding none-the-less.  However being born in North America and growing up watching a TLC’s Wedding Story (is that even airing anymore?) I’ve learned a lot about the western wedding party and really felt it was important to include this my Indian wedding. Above all these roles, Indian weddings have important roles for brothers (plays a part in helping the bride during the ceremony as well as the groom when he arrives), a young boy close to the groom (called a sarbala who rides with groom and stays by his side during the wedding) and of course the parents on both sides.

I never really went into details about how I asked my Bridesmaids to be my Bridesmaids.  But essentially I created a card for them from a plastic picture holder (can hold 2 pictures back and front) that I got from Michael’s (Art’s & Craft store).  I wrote a poem – which was personalized to each of them, and included (at minimum) 5 reasons to be my Bridesmaid.  Both the poems / reasons were sweet yet comical and were catered towards my personality and the relationship I shared with my friend.  I placed the poem, pictures and the question “Will you be my Bridesmaid?” on the card.  They looked something like this:

This is the card I created for my Maid of Honour.

I then took each girl out for lunch or coffee and asked them there :)  They were all happy to receive the gesture and it was a great experience.

As for my flower girl, I bought a basket put some ribbon on it to create a handle.  Filled it with chocolate and fake flower petals.  I also wrote a poem, catered towards an Indian wedding and then gave her the gift in front of my parents, her parents and her brother.  Her parents understood what it was and were very thrilled, she didn’t fully understand until we explained it to her.  The great thing about this was that she has a few months to practice how to lay the flowers down – plus it gets her excited for her important role on the wedding day.  Her gift looked like this:

For the Groomsmen …there were asked either over the phone or by email (haha ohhh FH!) and for the Ring boy I asked his mom – who in turn asked him on my behalf.  Overall, a great experience – I hope all the roles fit together at the ceremony *knock wood*.  I’m sure I’ll post about how it turns out :)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment